everything you (didn't) want to know

Friday, June 16, 2006

everything you (didn't) want to know

I am 21. I have no idea what I want to be when I grow up. In fact, I’m not quite sure I want to grow up. Yes, eventually I will graduate college and be forced to look for employment with a degree clutched in one hand and a resume in the other. But I don’t know what that degree will be.

I started college in August ’03 as a nursing major at Stephen F. Austin State University. I wanted to help people. My first year of college was tumultuous. I partied, a lot. Too much. And I got hurt. I made a 3.5 GPA.

I took anatomy summer ’04. I changed my major halfway through the course. In July, I decided not to go back to Stephen F. Austin State University. I left friends, a sorority, wonderful roommate, and a (kind of) boy. I traveled in Europe for three weeks with my Nana and then worked at SuperTarget through the Christmas season.

In January ’05, I moved to Oklahoma. I loved it. Being eight hours from home was difficult, but I grew as a person. I made a 3.79 GPA.

Summer ’05 was spent working at a camp. I stayed for nine weeks and loved on kids and befriended some amazing people. I was scared all summer that I wouldn’t go back to OU. I did. But it was a hard adjustment from camp. I spent fall ’05 being anti-social, a workaholic, and missing my camp friends. By October, I got over it and started being social and still a workaholic. I spent time with my sorority sisters but did not feel close to them.

December ’05 was a difficult month. My car got stolen. Then I got it back. I went home for a week when I wasn’t taking a Latin Literature in Translation class at OU for December Intersession. I made an A.

I got a second job spring ’06. I worked 30-40 hours/week, took 12 hours of class, and spent a lot of time with friends. I went inactive in my sorority but grew closer to many of the girls. I made new friends and branched out. I changed my major from English to professional writing. I hope to get a job when I graduate.

Summer ’06 is proving to be interesting. I work (but not enough) two jobs, take classes, and spend time with people. I need to be anti-social so I can study. But that’s difficult in the summer.

I enjoy many things. I am usually happy unless I am in ‘rare form’ as I am sometimes late at night when tired and cranky and sunburnt. I have amazing friends. They make my life. My family lives eight (soon to be almost ten) hours away. I see them every so often, usually on major holidays.

I am from the South. But you wouldn’t know it. I don’t like gravy, cornbread, or much barbecue. Yes, I am weird. I do love sushi, Thai food, and real Mexican. It’s hard to find any of those in Oklahoma so I crave them often.

I like to think I am different from most people. I’m not. But I pretend I am.

I enjoy pedicures and having my nails done. I fake bake because I don’t see the sun enough thanks to work and class. I lifeguarded for five years; I miss working in the sun and teaching children to swim.

I am obsessed with television and movies. The Hills rules my life as does Grey’s Anatomy. Dawson’s Creek is how I solve problems. And I want my own Nick Lachey and to be someone’s Jessica Simpson (to an extent), pre-nasty divorce that is all Jessica’s fault. I love Britney Spears. You might think she is trash; I think she is awesomely trashy and that her boobs are real.

I’m a Christian. This is a huge part of who I am. I am not perfect nor do I claim to be.

This is my life. I am jumping in.